Musings and Snoozes

An introduction of sorts

on November 11, 2012

So it’s taken me a little longer than planned to get round to writing this – partly because I wasn’t awake enough to do it and partly because I’ve been waiting for more news from the doctors. I’m still awaiting the exact diagnosis and whatnot, but it seems I have ME/CFS (http://www.nhs.uk/conditions/chronic-fatigue-syndrome/pages/introduction.aspx). It’s something I’ve suspected for a couple of years now, but it’s taken me a long time to believe it’s not all in my head and so going to the doctors has been a little while coming. At the moment I’ve had all the tests to prove it’s not thyroid, liver, kidney related, but because I suffer from aches and pains on a daily basis, I’m being referred to the Rheumatology Clinic to test to Fybromyalgia (http://www.nhs.uk/Conditions/Fibromyalgia/Pages/Introduction.aspx). Either confirmed diagnosis will be a relief, just to know that there is a real physical reason for feeling this pathetic all of the time, but I’m very aware that a diagnosis sadly doesn’t fix things. So that’s where this comes into play. For one thing it’s nice to have something to concentrate on and that I can try and update once a day and make part of my routine, but also it’s a good exercise for me to be able to look for patterns and see what makes me feel better or worse. So this is it, the daily life of me and the ups and downs of having ME/CFS.

Leave a Reply

