Musings and Snoozes

Pitter Patter Raindrop

on November 22, 2012

Image

Lying in bed, listening to the wind and rain outside…bliss 🙂 Well, almost bliss, I’m also listening to the sound of Jon killing things on the PC but it’s almost perfect! I could sit and listen to rain for hours, there’s something very calming about the sound of it as it hits the ground that I’ve always loved since being a child. If I know I can come back to cosy house and a hot bath then I like to go walking in it too. Maybe not tonight though!

Today has been a better day than expected. I woke up this morning, after about two hours sleep, all ready to text Chris and tell him I wasn’t coming in. I have no idea why I didn’t sleep well yesterday, especially as I was so tired, but sleep very much eluded me last night and consequently I woke up feeling like death. Everything ached and I just felt like a couldn’t move, no matter how hard I tried. Pride won out though (I just can’t bring myself to call in sick cos I’m “tired”) and after making myself get up and shower, I did actually feel much better. Work was good, busier than the last few days which is great for making the time go quicker, and I was even awake enough to go do some Christmas shopping in town. Shockingly, aside from hair gel and some essential make up, I didn’t spend everything on me and have actually ended up with a few presents bought! Now I can feel smug, relax, and then panic again come the 23rd December when I realise I’ve done no more shopping and actually only have about 4 presents bought, but never mind, it’s a start! Went to Mum’s afterwards for tea and chilling, which was lovely as always and just what I needed after a hard hours’ shopping, and then headed home to write more of the millions of thank you letters that I’m working through from the wedding. I’ll get there in the end!

So yes, the moral of the story today is that getting up and throwing yourself in the shower does actually make the day more bearable, or something like that! Time now though to drift off to sleep to the sound of the rain….

Leave a Reply

