Musings and Snoozes

Coming through! Lady with a stick!

on September 28, 2014

image

I don’t often break the walking stick out, so when I do, it’s safe to say that things aren’t great. But that aside, what baffles me is how people react to it.

I don’t know if it’s just because I don’t exactly look like your average stick user -I might feel 95 but I like to think I don’t look it – or if maybe everyone who has some kind of walking aid experiences this, but people look at you differently.

Now I’m the first to admit that I will quite happily break out the stick on public transport when necessary in order to get a much needed seat, so I’m not complaining about people’s reactions, it just interests me. At least three times today I saw people do a double take and one woman, clearly very unimpressed that I wanted to get past her and her unruly child, actually scowled, huffed, and puffed, before seeing the stick and miraculously turning into a sweet human being and graciously letting me through. Apparently the only thing more important than your screaming brat is an unlikely cripple girl. Who knew?

I get that it’s probably basic human instinct to feel sorry for someone worse off than you/in pain/that you sympathise with etc, and as I say, this isn’t a complaint – lord knows my life’s motto is “everybody feel sorry for the lizard” – but wouldn’t it just be better if everyone’s basic human instinct was to actually be nice regardless of the walking stick in the unlikely girl’s hand and the need for sympathy?

Then again maybe it might help if I didn’t look like I could take out anyone that gets in my way at any given moment with aforementioned stick. Possibly should work on that….

Leave a Reply

