Musings and Snoozes

It all comes back to the music

on October 29, 2014

image

I’m not going to lie, my first thought this morning was not the fact that today is the anniversary of my Dad’s death (it was instead “oh shit, my yoga class started 15 minutes ago”), but every year without fail something comes up that turns my thoughts towards Dad. Today it was, somewhat fittingly, new music.

I no longer feel particularly sad when this day comes round-yes, of course I inevitably think about how much I miss him, but mostly it just gives me an opportunity to take a bit of time to think about him. Music was by far one of the biggest connections I had with Dad (along with our utter emotional, and usually rather argumentative, outbursts) and so it’s not that surprising  that music should be the trigger today.

I miss the sound of his guitar playing which almost constantly filled the house, but the biggest thing I miss is sharing musical discoveries. When I hear a new band or discover a new song, I know I get my excitement from my Dad. That emotional attachment I can form almost instantly with a song or a piece of music, the need to share it, the complete bafflement when no one else quite gets it-all that comes from Dad!

So today, I think you should all go out and listen to You+Me. I’ll leave it up to you to discover who the slightly weird and wonderful duo are, and I will be baffled when you don’t like it as much as me, and I won’t get why it doesn’t speak to you on an emotional level, but that’s ok, because Dad would get it.

Leave a Reply

