Musings and Snoozes

Just five more minutes!

on May 20, 2015

image

Today I was meeting Tess for lunch at 12. At 11.25 I was still in bed, pretty much looking like the above tortoise (only with purple bed hair and a dog sat on my tummy). Even though I know I have to get up, and I knew I couldn’t be late today, and that it would definitely take me at least half an hour to get there, I still couldn’t make my body move.

I spent a long time before I was diagnosed worrying that maybe it really was all in my head, that maybe I was just depressed, but I’ve learnt now that while I do have days where it’s general meh and disinterest that keeps me under the duvet, most days it is pure exhaustion and pain. That may not sound particularly positive, but it was a hell of a relief when I first got diagnosed to find that there were legitimate reasons for my inability to get up.

I made it though. Just about. The rest of my day didn’t quite go to plan, but it at least started off with a good natter and cake! I have however subsequently FINALLY cleaned the house. I’m pretty knackered and will of course be off for a hot bath any minute now, but I have washed up, cleaned the kitchen, tidied the living room and hung up our new blackboard/keyholder. It may not sound like much, but I’ve been building up to this for nearly a month and I feel decidedly smug now šŸ™‚ Pooch and I are currently surveying our good work from the comfort of the sofa and I will soon be looking like the aforementioned tortoise again as I try to make it upstairs!

Leave a Reply

