Musings and Snoozes

The time has come, the walrus said….

on June 6, 2015

image

…to finally give in and admit that being gluten free could really improve my fibromyalgia (and let’s be honest, probably my health in general!)

I’ve been contemplating it for about six months now, but every time I look at a fresh white baguette or remember the packet of cookies I have in the cupboard, all resolve disappears and I decide I can’t be arsed. But, having been so ill the past week or so (and to be honest, a good couple of weeks before too), even I have to admit that anything is worth a go. Plus I can’t deny that whilst eating a huge bowl of pasta washed down with a side of baguette is bloody amazing at the time, it really doesn’t do me any good afterwards.

So, the cookies, the Frosties, the bread and the pasta have all been gotten rid of (or hidden) and I have stocked up on all the gluten free alternatives. I feel the ginger biscuits aren’t quite going to replace my love of chocolate chip cookies, and nor will I be able to eat them at the same rate given the bloody price of them (grumble grumble), but I hope once I start feeling a bit brighter that I can get back to baking and cooking my own treats and meals.

So day 1 complete. I haven’t died. I’m not starving. And I haven’t had to resort to fishing the packet of cookies out of the bin. I don’t however promise that I won’t dream of fresh white baguettes tonight…

Leave a Reply

