Musings and Snoozes

Pinterest Addict Here

on January 6, 2016

image

My name is Laura and I’m addicted to Pinterest.

I love it, my feed is constantly full of brightly coloured hair, tattoos, book quotes, and inevitably, many many fibro/lupus pins. And it’s the latter that got me thinking.

The picture at the top of this blog in from Pinterest, and it’s where I get a lot of funny eCards or quotes from. Fab, right? Well yes, but what I also see is an overwhelming amount of “woe is me”, “you don’t know how hard my life is”, type pins, like the below.

image

Now I enjoy a good “do you know how hard my life is?” as much as the next person, but I sometimes have to physically take myself away from Pinterest in order to remind myself that I do not need to engage in self-indulgent moping *all* the time. Not only that, but I certainly don’t intend to spend my time bemoaning how everyone else has it easy compared to me. Everyone has something, I have no more right to judge anyone else’s life than they do to judge mine. Now don’t get me wrong, I equally haven’t turned all holier than thou, I’d be lying if I said I didn’t have my moments of frustration when I’m having a flare up and still trying to function like a semi-normal human being, but I hope I never reach the point where I resent all you lovely people just because you have your health. I mean you’re lucky, yeh, but I’m pretty sure I have better things to hate on in life.
image

Leave a Reply

