Musings and Snoozes

Did nobody tell David Bowie I’ve got PMS?

on January 11, 2016

image

As if I’m not an emotional wreck at the drop of a hat at the best of times, David Bowie goes and dies while I’m in full blown PMS mode. Sob.

I think aside from the fact that it was such a shock, this is the first time that I’ve really been affected by a famous person’s death. His music has always been there throughout my life, probably without me ever really consciously thinking about it. Then there’s his amazing fashion influence – the man looked incredible at pretty much any given era, and really, you can’t say that about many men in a skintight catsuit.

But most importantly for me, it was his complete sexual ambiguity and androgyny that fascinated me. Watching Labyrinth for the first time as a teenager who had no idea what to make of her somewhat confusing sexuality was pretty eye-opening. Listening to all the commentary and tributes throughout the day today, so many people have talked about his feminine looks, and “that moment” on Top of the Pops with his arm draped around Mick Ronson, and the one thing that stands out is how shocking it was at the time. And yet look at what a legend he was. Still is, even though he’s gone. I don’t know a single person who has a bad word to say against him – the worst I hear is “meh, he was ok, I quite liked Heroes”. And I think that’s pretty awesome. I hope one day we can be quite so accepting of all “different” and “flamboyant” people, not just the famous, good looking ones.

Leave a Reply

