Musings and Snoozes

There’s a nap for that

on March 21, 2016

image

This made me giggle far more than it probably should, but it certainly seems fitting since all my latest app purchases and downloads are sleep and health related.

Number one currently is of course my Fitbit, which I am still totally in love with after a whole 8 days. Admittedly it’s not magically making me a size 8, but being the competitive soul that I am, it is making me move around much more. The choice between staying in the sofa or walking the pooch now becomes influenced by “ooh I could get my step count up if I move” and so it’s win win for both me and the pooch.

I’ve also got couple of really good new meditation/mindfulness apps. I will always swear by Headspace as a default, but it’s nice to discover new and exciting ones to go with it. Buddhify is proving particularly effective as you can tell it exactly what you’re doing, for example waking up, work break, at home, pain & illness etc, so it tailors it to fit what’s going on there and then. There’s an option for just having come home from work, which I’m finding mega useful, since I really struggle to switch off and get out of my work mindset.

Stop, Breathe & Think is another really good alternative. It works in a similar way to Buddhify, but is based on how you feel, rather than what you’re doing. So you can choose several different feelings and emotions that you’re experiencing at that moment and the app will pick the right meditation to help either emphasise the positive feelings or overcome the negative thoughts.

Couple all that with having had the fabbest birthday weekend that a girl could ask for, and I’m in a remarkably good place. Bring it on world, I think I might just be able to take you. So long as I’ve had my cup of coffee of course….

One response to “There’s a nap for that

  1. paws2smile says:

    Oooooooo! I think I may have to check out those mindful apps! 🙂

Leave a Reply

