Musings and Snoozes

Just pick it up and put it to one side

on March 28, 2016

image

It may sound simple, but separating how I feel from who I am has been some of the best advice I’ve ever received. That’s not to say I’m all that good at following it, but when I do, it’s amazing what a difference it makes.

I’ve always been someone who gets completely immersed in things, people, projects, you name it – if it’s important to me in some way, I can guarantee it will at some point take over my life. Obviously this isn’t always a bad thing, I can be determined and fiercely loyal to someone or something, but I can also become overwhelmed with feelings and emotions connected with that person or thing, usually at the expense of everything else.

So when I’m angry, upset, frustrated etc all these things threaten to colour every other part of my life. Learning to take a step back and remember that I’m not sad, I just feel sad is hugely important. Once I can compartmentalise each emotion and mentally put it in its own box, then I can take a step back and carry on with an unclouded vision.

Of course every now and again it all becomes too much, I throw all the boxes around in a temper tantrum, and have a mini-meltdown, but if I can take that step back before I get to that stage, then there’s a chance that I might just be able to stay one step ahead of myself 😊

Leave a Reply

