Musings and Snoozes

Listen to your body’s whispers before they become screams

on April 8, 2016

image

I admit it. I’m approximately *this* close to a flare up. I’ve done a fine job of burying my head in the sand for probably the last ten days or so, but I think I might have to admit defeat at this point and accept that I’m more than a little broken.

Which of course means that there are a hundred other things I’d rather be doing. Much like cleaning the bathroom became a tempting prospect when faced with essay writing at uni, I now find I’d quite like to go to the gym, go shopping, tidy the house, walk the dog. You name it, it’s more tempting that staying home all weekend and taking care of myself.

I always used to think I’d be really rather good at doing nothing. I mean isn’t that what everyone craves? Taking time out for yourself, lazing on the sofa, taking long hot showers….? And I do, I love doing those things. When I’m well. But the enjoyment is kind of taken out of it when you can’t sit still because of muscle spasms, or when the shower may help the pain, but it leaves you so tired that you have to lie down afterwards. There’s an ecard that always does the rounds on chronic illness forums that says “you don’t know what fatigue is until you’ve had to rest after taking a shower” and it’s horribly true. Which is particularly frustrating for someone like me who could quite happily live under a hot shower! If nothing else, it’s where I do all of my over thinking and have all of the imaginary conversations and arguments that I’ll never actually say out loud . Obviously.

So I’m currently doing a fine line in moping, whilst issuing instructions from the aforementioned sofa. At least I am when I can formulate sentences -it’s just taken me four attempts to ask for rice to go with my dinner. Poor Jon puts up with a lot. The pooch is of course being super sympathetic, by which I mean she’s sat on my foot (which hurts) while trying to pretend like she hasn’t been fed (nobody believes her lies), and I think I just have to sit tight and ride this out. Blanket, sofa, chocolate, meds, pooch, internet. Suck it up Lizard and just be good to yourself.

2 responses to “Listen to your body’s whispers before they become screams

  1. paws2smile says:

    Agreed! I love that ecard because it’s so true for me too! And even if I end my shower with cold water, I still get a hot flash and sit after my shower sweating. So I have learned to just turn my fan on, lay in bed & take a nap after my showers. I used to fight it & do things afterwards. It is so much easier to just give in & go with the flow. 🙂 I hope you get plenty of relaxing done this weekend!

Leave a Reply

