Musings and Snoozes

The good, the bad, and the oops I did too much

on April 25, 2016

So in all honesty, today has not been a good day. I am pretty much crippled with pain, meds aren’t even touching it, and consequently I’m pissy and miserable. BUT, I had such an amazing time yesterday that it was completely worth it – eight of us, four convertibles, Malvern Hills – absolute perfection.

image

So instead of moping, it got me thinking about all the little moments that just make life good. So often it’s not the big things that make a difference, but all those everyday moments of bliss that keep us going. So here’s my list of life’s little pleasures:

*The feel of fresh bedsheets

*Closing my eyes under the shower and letting the water wash over me

*The first sip of hot coffee in a morning

*Being surrounded by friends that make me so at ease that I can’t help but smile just looking at them

*Fairy lights at dusk

*Driving my car with the music up, the roof down, and no clear destination

*My hair being stroked

*Fresh ink on my skin

*Sitting outside during a summer storm

*When someone tells me something made them think of me

*Listening to music through headphones and losing myself a little

*The smell of incense burning

*Watching the dog dream and let out a little bark in her sleep

*Falling in love with new people

If I can do or feel at least one of these every day then things are never as bad as they seem. So I’m off to burn some incense and put my headphones in. The pain, no matter how bad it is, will always come second to this list.

Leave a Reply

