Musings and Snoozes

The importance of meraki

on May 27, 2016

image

You should know this. Whoever you are, if you are part of my life then it’s for a reason. I’ve always looked to others for inspiration and recently more so that ever. Without some of the most incredibly inspiring people in my life currently, I wouldn’t be who I am.

My first instinct when I think about this last week is to say that it’s been hard. And it has. I’m absolutely shattered, I’ve lost my way a little, and in all honesty, I’m pretty down. But, on the flipside, it’s been the eye-opening week that I probably needed for several reasons, not least because of some of the people I spent the day with at the GLBTA conference on Wednesday. These are the people who remind me of the importance of role models, of having them and of being one myself. I look to others, but I hope that I can be someone who others look to as well from time to time. And the key to this every single time these discussions come up is being authentic, bringing your true self to whatever the situation may be, and this is so very important to me. I try my hardest to be true to myself and I know that when I am, I can achieve so much more, be it personally or professionally.

And so this is what I have focused on this week. Things are not perfect, I’m learning more about myself than I’m probably quite ready to, but I am so very lucky to be surrounded by some of the most amazing people I could possibly ask for. If I learn even a little bit from everyone in my life at the moment, I will be better for it, and really, I don’t think I could ask for anything more.

Leave a Reply

