Musings and Snoozes

“Words are, in my not so humble opinion, our most inexhaustible source of magic”

on June 1, 2016

image

So this post was originally going to be about the little ways in which my illnesses affect me – the overall feeling of chronic pain and constant fatigue is one thing, but it’s the little things that mean the the most to me. Then while I was writing I came across the quote above, which is a pretty good representation of how I feel about the pain, both physical and mental – I can quite literally let it kill me or it can make me stronger, or I can at least make the best out of a bad situation. So then of course, story of my life, I got sidetracked.

The little thing itself that started off this post was that I can no longer physically write. Not the words, but the physical act of writing with a pen and paper sadly cripples me now – my wrist seizes up, dislocates, and then I’m in so much pain that I have to stop. That’s pretty damn heartbreaking for a writer, I can assure you. But there are ways and means round it – my phone is my lifeline when it comes to being able to put my thoughts into writing, be it here on my blog or via my notebook app that let’s me capture thoughts and dreams as they come. And of course it doesn’t mean I can’t still get lost in a world of words, and when they’re not my own, they’re someone else’s.

And so Beau Taplin – someone whose writing I have utterly fallen in love with, and who has inspired many of my own thoughts over the last few months. His books are full of snippets of life, love, pain, beauty, and everything in between. I can fall in and out as I wish, dipping in for five minutes or days on end, and I love that – sometimes I just need a pick me up and sometimes I need a full on escape. His words never fail to connect with me, to make me think, to question, or to just think yes, that’s exactly it.

And so I’ll leave you with the words below. Go check out his work if you’re interested – I can guarantee you’ll find something in there somewhere to touch your soul.

image

Leave a Reply

