Musings and Snoozes

Water for the soul

on June 29, 2016

small talk

I’ve been writing this one on and off for a while now, not quite being able to find the right words. So now I’m dosed up on about ten different medications, trying desperately to make myself better for a gig tonight and a Brighton trip tomorrow, it seemed as good a time as any to finish it off 🙂

People fascinate me. I don’t care what type of person you are, so long as you have an interesting story to tell. I love getting to know someone – learning their likes and dislikes, what makes them angry, what keeps them awake at 3am, what means most to them in life. I am intrigued by what makes us all work. I want to find out what I have in common with someone, a connection, but also what makes us different. Why do you think a certain way? Why do you believe what you do?

I’ve been a people person for as long as I can remember, and long before I ever recognised it as a “thing”. Maybe it’s linked to my love of stories – everyone is their own story after all, and I long to know what that story is. It’s why my friendships are so important to me, and why some of them are probably quite intense.The people in my life, and the stories they share, mean the world to me.

It doesn’t always last though. Sometimes it’s an instant thing, a 3am thing, that in the cold light of day becomes something different altogether. And that’s ok. Not everything is built to last. Sometimes a fleeting moment of intensity can be far more satisfying than a lifetime of small talk.

But then sometimes it becomes an intrinsic part of life. Sometimes you just find those people that have somehow always been destined to become a part of your life, or at least it feels that way. Often they’re the most unexpected connections, the ones that maybe didn’t come straight away, or that came out of such a weird and wonderful situation, that you never saw it coming, and they’re some of my favourites.

So talk to me, tell me about you, what makes you get out of bed in the morning, what do you dream about when you go to sleep at night. This is what keeps me connected to this world – when all I want to do is shut myself away, it’s what keeps me fighting. So share your secrets and I promise to keep them safe.

Leave a Reply

