Musings and Snoozes

I have salt in my veins and sand in my heart ๐Ÿ’œ

on July 31, 2016

After two failed attempts, we finally made it to Brighton yesterday. I can’t tell you what good a bit of sea air does – it just clears everything and makes life better. Couple that with amazing friends, and it was just the day I think we all needed. 

I’m learning to make long days out like yesterday work for me. I know I can’t do as much as I used to be able to and I know I’ll suffer the day after regardless, but the fact that I can still spend a day out with friends and have a great time means the world to me. OK there are more stops for coffee and sitting than there used to be, and I now have no qualms in paying a fair bit for parking if it means not walking an extra mile to save money, but that’s OK, and most importantly, my friends are fab at looking after me and checking I’m OK. And I love them for it. 

So today has been a write-off, as expected. I hurt my foot paddling in the sea yesterday (damn pebble beach) so I can’t put any weight on it today. Plus my legs have seized up and pretty much stopped working. But that’s OK, I expected as much, I had no plans today anyway and so there’s been no problem lazing on the sofa all day. My only concern now is when I can get back to the gym – I don’t want to lose the momentum I’ve just found, so I’m hoping a bit more rest tomorrow and I’ll be able to go back on Tuesday, even if it’s just a gentle workout. 

But I can safely say that the beach, awesome friends, some sea air, traditional fish & chips, a spot of shopping (including my amazing Old Navy dungarees), and what can only be described as a comedy ride on the waltzers, makes every single bit of pain worth it. 

Leave a Reply

