Musings and Snoozes

Across the Irish Sea

on August 22, 2016

I’m off on Irish adventures again. I’m pretty sure I should have an office over here, I love it. Admittedly I particularly love it because it’s 10am and my meeting doesn’t start til noon. So I’m currently sat in the corner at breakfast, on my third cup of coffee, watching the world go by. I might mosy down for a swim in a bit, and then think about getting ready. Or I might just stay here and have another coffee. 

If there is one thing I’ve learned about travelling with work, it’s that I’ll make it work for me. Travelling is knackering at the best of times, doing it while chronically ill is a whole different ball game. For one, I categorically refuse to travel in one day for a meeting. If it means going on a Sunday (which is what I did this time) then so be it. At least I know that time is my time and I can do with it as I choose. There’s no urgent need to be anywhere – I can sleep, chill, swim, eat, drink – whatever I choose. It sets me up nicely for the next day.  

It also helps that Irish hospitality is beautiful. Admittedly I’m in a five star resort, but even so, from the taxi driver at the airport (who told me his life story, god love him) to the concierge at the hotel, and everyone in between – nothing is ever too much trouble. It’s a bit like America in that sense, and having worked in a hotel myself, it’s something we Brits could learn a little from. 

So as I sit here, listening to the almost impenetrable Cork accent, other guests telling stories to each other, and being fed a constant supply of coffee, I can’t really complain about being “at work”. If only every day were like this…. 

Leave a Reply

