Musings and Snoozes

Brought to you today by hormones and emotions

on August 28, 2016

The Great British summer bank holiday is here. A three day weekend – which shockingly hasn’t been a washout so far –  and one that started beautifully in the pub on Friday night. Beer garden, friends, fizz, and nibbles – perfect. 

Then, not to put to fine a point on it, it all went a bit to shit. It turns out that recovering from a quite frankly knackering week, not taking my meds for 4 days because of epic amounts of brain fog screwing me over, AND a severe dose of PMT doesn’t end well. Actually it ends up not being able to see straight, not feeling like your body belongs to you, and having a terrifying panic attack on the bathroom floor at 1am. Yeh….oops.

I am fine now, I’m back on the meds, my hormones have relaxed, and I’ve had A LOT of sleep, but it is not something I care to repeat any time soon. I’ve always known that the withdrawal from my meds is pretty horrible – god knows I’ve done it enough times – but it’s never been combined with PMT before. Apparently the two don’t play well together. Even when I finally, quite literally crawled into bed, I had unsettling dreams involving the end of the world and everyone ceasing to exist. Suffice to say, I did not wake up at my most cheerful this morning. 

But, as always and without even probably knowing it, my family and friends have utterly set me back on track today. I was so very grateful to have dinner at mum’s to go to, else I think I might have done some serious moping. An afternoon there, full of giggles, cake, and family, and I’m ready to face the world again. There aren’t words for how grateful I am. 

As I was ready to take on the world again, I roped poor Jon into giving the house a mini blitz tonight. I’m sure he had other, more relaxing, playstation involving plans, but I was on a mission and the poor man doesn’t have a lot of choice when I’m in this mood. So tidying has occurred, I’ve thrown out another binbag full of stuff (I’m slowly learning to declutter and stop hoarding), and my house looks a little more like a home again, rather than the junk shop it was previously. 

So I’m now somewhat collapsed, but content, in a bath full of bubbles and salts. I can tell you it makes for a far more pleasant night than the one 24 hours ago. I’m sure there are morals to be had and lessons to be learnt (take your effing medication for starters), but right now I’m just glad to be in one piece, happy to be here, and feeling thoroughly lucky and loved šŸ’œ

One response to “Brought to you today by hormones and emotions

  1. Wish I’d read this sooner & bought cake & coffee or something xx

Leave a Reply

