Musings and Snoozes

What doesn’t kill you…. Blah blah blah 

on September 11, 2016

My favourite dress, sparkly make up, and my favourite pink flowered Docs. Oh and a shit-tonne of painkillers. After the most painful 24 hours I’ve experienced in a long time (coming from a girl who’s in constant pain as it is), it felt damn good to find some semblance of normal this evening, albeit only for a few hours. 

Quite honestly, it’s been a shit week. Wednesday I crashed my car, through no fault of my own. Thursday my tooth started hurting. Friday, I was in so much pain that I blacked out and genuinely considered a mild dose of death as a preferable option. By this morning I was on the phone to NHS direct (or whatever they call it these days) to try and find out what the hell to do about the fact that I wanted to cut the entire left side of my face off. Three phone conversations later and I was on my way to the dentist for an emergency appointment. I have never been so glad to see my dentist in my life. 

Turns out that wanting to cut off my face was quite a reasonable response to what turned out to be not one, but two, extremely inflamed nerve endings. On the plus side, I felt less of a wimp about the fuss I was making and I was reassured that no, no matter how many pain killers I took, it wasn’t going to touch it. I don’t think I’ve ever been so desperate for anaesthetic injections as I was this morning, even if I knew it would wear off eventually. The good news is I have a temporary fix which has massively reduced the pain and inflammation. The downside is I have to go back to fix the problem permanently, but if it means never suffering this amount of pain again, then I’m all for it . I might just have to re-read this post nearer the time to remind myself that death was looking a preferable option and to therefore suck it up and fix the problem. 

And so by the wonders of the NHS and  the aforementioned shit-tonne of painkillers, I made it out to a lovely 80th birthday party this evening. Admittedly I had to leave early when I started feeling pretty rough again, but it was worth it to get dressed up, have my hair and tattoos admired, and of course see the lovely birthday girl, who was clearly having a whale of a time bring surrounded by friends and family. Jon took me back around 11ish, via the shop for some more painkillers and some medicinal chocolate milk, and I’m now happily curled up in my old bedroom at mum’s, extremely grateful for the fact that I’m no longer in agony, just mild discomfort. 

All in all, it hasn’t exactly been the week I had planned. There were some bright spots I should add – a blissful spa evening at Champneys with mum, and some welcome plans at work have both helped make the week bearable – but suffice to say, I won’t be sorry to see the back of this one. If my normality of low grade pain and grumbles, plus my Monday morning bitchiness could return now I’d be extremely grateful.

3 responses to “What doesn’t kill you…. Blah blah blah 

  1. paws2smile says:

    Is the inflamed nerve endings due to your Lupus flaring up? I hope you get more relief soon. 😦 Sending spoons your way!

Leave a Reply

