Musings and Snoozes

A chameleon in a bag of skittles 

on October 3, 2016

Is it too much to ask for just one nice Monday? One where everything goes right, nothing unexpectedly rotten happens, and we all just make it through at our own pace? 
Apparently so. 

Today has been a bit of a…. I was going to say roller-coaster, but that probably implies it’s been more exciting than is strictly true! Instead, let’s just say it’s been downright exhausting. However to give it some credit, I don’t just want to mope about the bad stuff (which is actually essentially what I’ve done most of the day already), but to include the nice bits too that have made my day that little bit brighter. 

So my day started off with backache, cramps, and a definite “I don’t know wat to wear, everything looks shit, why won’t my eyeliner behave?”. I should have known then that it probably wasn’t going to be my day. I eventually left the house (chocolate milk in hand, obv), got halfway to work, hit a pothole, boom went my tyre. Actually, bleugh went my tyre, which was preferable as despite feeling like the whole effing wheel might fall off any minute, I did manage to skillfully drive the rest of the way to work without damaging the wheel or dying. 

Then the coffee machine was broken. I don’t think I need to say any more about this. There aren’t enough expletives in the world anyway. 

On the plus side, my lovely tyre people who come and rescue Bug and I quite regularly, were by some miracle able to get me a replacement same day and so once that was sorted, I felt a little better. 

Then I rang the Student Loans Company to find out where my money is. I will not go into great detail here, but suffice to say they’re no more bloody helpful as a postgrad than they were when I was an undergrad. They also all still have impenetrable Scottish accents, which results in me saying things like “I’m sorry the line’s really bad” after the fourth time of saying pardon. Bottom line is, I’ll do well to get paid by middle of next week. Not quite the start to NY that I had planned, but whatever, we’ll survive. 

From there on in though, things did improve. The calls that I’d been dreading at work went remarkably smoothly, the training session that I’d done precisely zero prep for was a miraculous success, and even resulted in some lovely feedback, and clearly most importantly, my favourite seat was still available when I went to check in for flight tomorrow (creature of habit much). So really, by the afternoon I was significantly less stressy and had stopped scowling at everyone who happened to so much as walk past my desk. 

And then in my biggest achievement, I came home, resisted just collapsing in a heap and napping under a blanket, and instead went to yoga. Honestly, when I stepped out the door and could see my damn breath it was so cold, I very nearly turned back round and came in again, but no, fifteen minutes in the car with the heating on full blast and I was ready to go. And unsurprisingly, I feel rather smug and lovely for it. 

So now I’m back home, trying to muster up the energy to shower before all my post-yoga joints seize up, and wondering (as usual the night before a flight) where my passport is. 

Today has been a test, and not one I care to repeat, but there’s nothing like the lows to appreciate the highs, right? 

Leave a Reply

