Musings and Snoozes

Trust the Magic

on December 31, 2016

What a strange 24 hours it’s been. Final day of a very odd year at work, root canal this morning, all sorts going on in my friends’ lives, my period unexpectedly arriving, strange dreams last night, making new friends today. I almost feel as though the whole year can be summed up in these last 24 hours! At the end of it all though, I always come back to the same thing. Coffee. 

I’m sat in Starbucks, which is my favourite place to blog because everyone leaves you alone, supping very carefully on a coffee (did I mention root canal?), before picking up the pooch and heading to mum’s for a very quiet new year’s eve. 

And you know what? I feel quite good about that. At first I was scowly that any new year party plans would be scuppered by the aforementioned root canal, but actually I’m going to take it as a lesson and a way to carry on into 2017. Not with more root canal (I hope!), but with more quiet, more calm, and more looking after me. I’ve talked about it several times, but the last few weeks have taught me that I have little choice if I don’t want to burn out completely, and it’s time to start taking notice. 

I’m a great one for new beginnings and despite the fact that I celebrate Celtic new year in November, it’s impossible not to be caught up in the end of one year and the beginning of the next. I feel a rather large amount of hope, not full on “this is going to be my year”, although I of course hope it will be, but just a peace that things are good, that they’re falling into place, and that despite all the roller-coaster ups and downs, that I’m happy. 

My Dad showed up in my dreams last night. He only ever appears when I’m at my most…on edge, I guess. He’s never there to give me advice or anything – don’t have any illusions of him appearing to tell me great truths and prophecies – but he’s just there in the background. Once he was on a train waving at me, last night he stood by a gate smiling as I drove past. Always fleeting, but always just enough to remind me I’m ok and to wake up with a renewed sense of optimism. 

And so that’s how I feel about 2017, a renewed sense of optimism and of purpose. And if that means starting out curled under a blanket, quietly seeing in the new year, then that’s fine by me. 

Happy New Year everyone. I wish you all the love, happiness, peace, and fun in the world 🙂

Leave a Reply

